Farewell to the Center of the Universe

6 Aug

The Bad:

It is hard to say goodbye to the first place you’ve ever owned.  The first place you’ve staked your claim.  Where you first lived as a couple, as an engaged couple, as a married couple.  However untraditional.

The first house I purchased.  Yes, it was *my* purchase in case it didn’t work out.  I loved it.

It was a place my mother fretted over, once she knew of it.  The place she never got to visit, to see of my life and an accomplishment.  The place, in the end, she wished she had lived. My first stake and she never got to be a part of it, except electronically.

I left it there today.  In Ashland, VA.  The Center of the Universe.

**

The Good:

So, it turns out when you feel like you’re leaving something behind, it is quite possibly definitely something important, like your clothes.  All of them [or the ones the movers didn’t pack, but what you plan to keep as a wardrobe in your new house].  Shit.  Luckily, I managed to grab those at the very end and find somewhere to stuff them… Sounds easier than it was.

Then the two [of four] puppies and I set out for Michigan and left behind our Virginia house.  While I freaked out for 10 hours thinking I had a tick on my head,

 

Leave a Reply

