Things I Never Thought I’d Do

26 Jul

1) Google “Great Books on the War of 1812”.

I didn’t think I would do this for myself, let alone do this because of my husband’s job.

It’s not that I don’t like to learn new things or that I hate history, it’s just that the War of 1812 left my radar around high school and I haven’t looked back.

Until now.

Since it’s the 200th Anniversary of the War of 1812 and the Navy’s war, it seems it is a “big” deal.  Apparently there are lots of Navy events celebrating it.  Events that my husband and I will need to attend. I hate not being knowledgeable on a subject, so I intend to change that.  I will read at least a couple of books to re-familiarize myself with the War of 1812 so I can understand the bigger political implications that may have eluded me earlier.  Also so I can understand better the Naval implications and what happened near Michigan.  I am sure I won’t be an expert, but I intend to be able to speak intelligently on the subject.

2) Miss my 4 dogs.

I had to leave them with my husband when I left Michigan to head back “home” as I had a meeting on my way home and also another the next day, a meeting that would require me to stay the night with a friend without the dogs.

I finally made it home, “home” last night and it was odd to be here without my husband OR the dogs.  A empty house.  Silent.  No puppy trail following me room to room.  Begging for food. Demanding play time.  Nothing.  Just silence.

I thought it would be great.  I thought I would enjoy the peace and quiet.  I thought it would be serene.

I was wrong.

I missed my little friends.  I looked for them everywhere I turned.  I expected them to freak out when I left the house.  I wanted to give them a couple little treats to show my love.  I wanted to take them out to play.  The peace I expected was there, but I missed the harmony our pups add to life.

When they arrived home tonight, I made sure to give them a little extra love.  We will be separated a few more times until I am permanently in our new house in Michigan, but I will be sure to enjoy every minute with them I can in the meantime.

Leave a Reply

