It’s the End of the World as We Know It

18 Jul

Tonight, lying here in bed, preparing to write a blog I felt something on my back.  Then I felt it again.  I rushed my hand across the small of my back, hoping not to find anything, but grabbing a bug. I pulled it out to the side and saw it.  A tick.  Calmly, I jumped out of bed.  I couldn’t have gotten to the bathroom faster.  I grabbed toilet paper and prayed it was still where I left.  Thankfully it was.  So I quickly grabbed it and flushed it.

Unfortunately, I am so beyond terrified/creeped out, thoughts of all else are out the window.

I *hate* ticks.  They serve no purpose.  Seriously.

If they do, I don’t know it.  Awful, nasty vile creatures.

A couple years ago, I had one on the side of my lower back and I ran outside in a towel to get my tweezers from my car to remove it.  Then hysterically called people trying to get talked off the ledge, so I could remove it and go to work.  It took over an hour.

So everything I planned to write is gone.  But while I am on the subject of things I won’t miss from Virginia, we can add cicadas.

I went out to walk the dogs the other morning and I was certain the world was ending.   That locusts descended and it was only a matter of time before the world came to final judgement.

Except that it wasn’t.  It was just the cicadas. [Though they are affectionately referred to as cicadas].

When I moved here I heard about these pests that appear in the heat of the summer.  These odd creatures that hatched from eggs deposited 7 years prior.  They noise they make.  Aside from these stories, I never really saw them.

Until the other day.  One day they were not there.  The next day they were EVERYWHERE.  Well, everywhere in my neighbor’s yard.  And random other yards.  But not all yards.  Once I got over the fact they weren’t bees, I watched them.  They flew, they hovered, they swarmed, they ran into things.  They were huge and everywhere.

I couldn’t stand it.  I hate bugs.

After doing the wash last night, I was putting the cover on the chair when I saw it stuck there.  A damn cicada.  Where on Earth that thing came from, how it got on my chair cover, made it through the washer and dryer, I have not a clue.  But, I still hate bugs.

 

Leave a Reply

